The trusted voice of the industry
for more than 30 years

BMW NZ hails star performers

Hamilton and Hastings dealerships take out the two top prizes at company’s annual awards event. PLUS – gallery
Posted on 26 May, 2021
From left: Andreas Modlmayer, managing director, BMW NZ Financial Services, Richard Johnston, head of business, and Nick Davies, general manager, both from Coombes Johnston BMW, Hamilton, and Karol Abrasowicz-Madej, managing director, BMW Group NZ  
From left: Andreas Modlmayer, BMW NZ Financial Services, Rob Townsend and James Ridley, from Hawke’s Bay BMW, and Karol Abrasowicz-Madej, BMW Group NZ  
Selena Andreassend from Christchurch Mini Garage won the Mini sales consultant metro title  
Mini sales consultant (rural) winner Joao Santos, Wellington Mini Garage  
Aftersales service adviser (rural) winner Jaco Joubert, Hawke’s Bay BMW  
Aftersales service adviser (metro) winner Vaughn Cronin, Auckland City BMW  
Aftersales service technician (rural) winner Neil Gardiner, Hawke’s Bay BMW  
Parts adviser (rural) winner Kevin Yussupov, Coombes Johnston BMW Tauranga  
From left: Andreas Modlmayer, BMW NZ Financial Services, Margie Sanders, business manager, and Ian Gibson, managing director, both from Auckland City BMW, Karol Abrasowicz-Madej, BMW Group NZ  
BMW Group New Zealand held its 2020 Dealer of the Year Awards at the Park Hyatt Auckland  

A Hamilton dealership has retained its title of Metro Dealer of the Year during a glitzy ceremony held by the BMW Group New Zealand.

Coombes Johnston BMW collected the top honour during the 2020 Dealer of the Year Awards held recently at the Park Hyatt Auckland, which adds to its success in the 2019 event.

Hawke’s Bay BMW achieved the same excellence in their operations and took out the Rural Dealer of the Year 2020 award and its staff triumphed in three other categories.

Continental Cars BMW, which is based in Auckland’s Wairau Valley, also had winners in four sections.

In total, 15 dealerships and employees walked away with gongs as the BMW Group NZ recognised the “outstanding achievements” among its dealer network during 2020.

Karol Abrasowicz-Madej, managing director, says the awards were made more poignant against the backdrop of challenging trading conditions caused by the Covid-19 pandemic.

“The BMW and Mini dealer network demonstrated unwavering resilience across every aspect of their business over the past year,” he notes.

“This dedication was reflected in the way they pivoted their business operations to suit fast-changing lockdown conditions in the country, all the while maintaining the highest standards of professionalism, leadership and management practices with a customer-driven mindset.”

Award winners

Sales consultant (metro): Gino Tjandra, Continental Cars BMW
Sales consultant (rural): Mark Ireland, Cooke Howlison BMW
Mini sales consultant (metro): Selena Andreassend, Christchurch Mini Garage
Mini sales consultant (rural): Joao Santos, Wellington Mini Garage
Aftersales service adviser (metro): Vaughn Cronin, Auckland City BMW
Aftersales service adviser (rural): Jaco Joubert, Hawke’s Bay BMW
Aftersales service technician (metro): Don Pathirana, Continental Cars BMW
Aftersales service technician (rural): Neil Gardiner, Hawke’s Bay BMW
Parts adviser (metro): Kaushal Thakur, Continental Cars BMW
Parts adviser (rural): Kevin Yussupov, Coombes Johnston BMW Tauranga
Outstanding marketing performance: Wendy Jefferson, Continental Cars BMW
FS Dealer of the Year (metro): Auckland City BMW
FS Dealer of the Year (rural): Hawke’s Bay BMW
Dealer of the Year (metro): Coombes Johnston BMW, Hamilton
Dealer of the Year (rural): Hawke’s Bay BMW