The trusted voice of the industry
for more than 30 years

Endurance events boost Toyota 86 calendar

New race experience aims to encourage more drivers to join 2021 championship.
Posted on 12 October, 2020
Endurance events boost Toyota 86 calendar

Two weekends of endurance racing will open the Toyota Gazoo Racing NZ season for 2020-21 and offer drivers some valuable track time.

The events in November and December 2020 do not form part of the 2021 Best Bars sprint championship calendar but will run as a stand-alone endurance championship series.

They have been introduced to encourage current TR 86 drivers to team up with a new competitor from outside of the series to run a two-driver team.

Geoff Short, category manager, says the move enables new competitors to have seat time in the car and experience the series first-hand.

“With the 2019-20 championship concluding later than expected in September, these events will provide an opportunity to recruit new drivers for the 2021 championship,” he adds.

The Toyota 86 Endurance Championship will be run at Hampton Downs over the weekend of October 30-November 1, and at Pukekohe on December 4-6. Each event will comprise two one-hour races across the weekend.

A significant prize fund, based on a minimum 10-car grid, is up for grabs with the winners receiving $10,000 towards their sprint championship registration. A prize draw is also offering $5,000 for one lucky team that will also go towards their championship registration.

The Toyota 86 Championship will be run from January through to the end of March at circuits across the North Island.

Race dates

2020 Toyota 86 Endurance Championship

Round one: October 30-November 1 – Hampton Downs Motorsport Park
Round two: December 4-6 – Pukekohe Park Raceway

2021 Best Bars Toyota 86 Championship

Round one: January 22- 24 – Hampton Downs Motorsport Park
Round two: January 29-30 - Hampton Downs Motorsport Park
Round three: February 12-14 – Circuit Chris Amon Manfeild
Round four: March 5-7 – Pukekohe Park Raceway
Round five: March 26-28 – Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park, Taupo

Photo credit: Bruce Jenkins.