The trusted voice of the industry
for more than 30 years

Dixon dedicates win to Giltrap

Kiwi jumps to second in IndyCar championship after victory in California.
Posted on 23 April, 2024
Dixon dedicates win to Giltrap

Scott Dixon has claimed his 57th IndyCar victory and dedicated his latest success to motorsport benefactor Sir Colin Giltrap, who passed away last week.

The New Zealand driver is second in the championship after taking the chequered flag in the Grand Prix of Long Beach in California on April 22 (NZ time).

He finished ahead of Colton Herta and teammate Alex Palou respectively, and is now only 10 wins behind American great AJ Foyt on the all-time list.

Dixon’s round two triumph has also extended his record streak of consecutive seasons with at least one victory to 20, reports RNZ.

The 43-year-old dedicated his California win to Giltrap, who was a key supporter of Dixon early on in his career and also assisted many other Kiwi drivers over the years.

“He obviously helped start my career. We lost him this week so a huge thank you to him and all the support back home,” adds Dixon.

Dixon, a six-time IndyCar champion, qualified eighth for the Long Beach event and had to go into fuel-saving mode late in the race after making his second pitstop earlier than his rivals.

As for his fellow New Zealanders, Marcus Armstrong finished 12th and Scott McLaughlin failed to finish.

The drivers now head to Birmingham, Alabama, for the next round of the season on April 29 (NZ time).

Drivers’ championship

1. Josef Newgarden, 87 points
2. Scott Dixon, 75pts
3. Colton Herta, 72pts
4. Alex Palou, 63pts
5. Will Power, 61pts
Also: 10. Scott Mclaughlin, 40pts; 19. Marcus Armstrong, 23pts