The trusted voice of the industry
for more than 30 years

Brand scores hat-trick of finalists

Judges put spotlight on luxury, safety and light commercial vehicles as countdown to naming the winners begins. PLUS – gallery
Posted on 27 November, 2023
Safest vehicle finalist: Lexus NX  
Photos: NZME
Safest vehicle finalist: Lexus RX  
Safest vehicle finalist: Tesla Model Y  
Light commercial vehicle finalist: Ford Ranger  
Light commercial vehicle finalist: Peugeot Partner/e-Partner  
Light commercial vehicle finalist: VW Amarok  
Luxury vehicle finalist: BMW i7  
Luxury vehicle finalist: Lexus RZ  
Luxury vehicle finalist: Maserati Grecale  

The last nine vehicles in contention to be named the AA Driven Car Guide New Zealand Car of the Year 2023 have been revealed, with Lexus scoring three nominations.

The brand has two models – the NX and RX – vying for the safest vehicle gong and its RZ is among the finalists in the luxury category. The RX is also among the candidates for the large SUV prize, which was announced earlier this month.

Other finalists revealed on November 24 include Tesla’s Model Y for the safest vehicle and the BMW i7 and Maserati Grecale in the luxury section.

Ford’s Ranger clinched the NZ Car of the Year 2022 title and its latest version will do battle with Peugeot’s Partner/e-Partner and the VW Amarok for the light commercial vehicle honour.

Awards will be dished out across a range of categories when the winners are announced on December 1, with one vehicle being named overall car of the year. 

Other sections in the competition include passenger vehicles, small, medium and large SUVs, clean cars, sports and performance and People’s Choice.


Light commercial vehicle: Ford Ranger, Peugeot Partner/e-Partner, VW Amarok

Luxury: BMW i7, Lexus RZ, Maserati Grecale

Safest: Lexus NX, Lexus RX, Tesla Model Y