The trusted voice of the industry
for more than 30 years

Help choose NZ’s favourite car

Top 10 best-sellers battle for people’s choice category as NZ Car of the Year awards return. PLUS – gallery
Posted on 09 November, 2023
Photos: NZME
Small SUV finalist: BMW X1  
Small SUV finalist: Kia Niro  
Small SUV finalist: Toyota Yaris Cross  
Medium SUV finalist: Honda ZR-V  
Medium SUV finalist: Mazda CX-60  
Medium SUV finalist: Tesla Model Y  
Large SUV finalist: Ford Everest  
Large SUV finalist: Jeep Grand Cherokee  
Large SUV finalist: Lexus RX  
People’s Choice finalist: BYD Atto 3  
People’s Choice finalist: Ford Ranger  
People’s Choice finalist: MG ZS  
People’s Choice finalist: Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross  
People’s Choice finalist: Mitsubishi Outlander  
People’s Choice finalist: Mitsubishi Triton  
People’s Choice finalist: Suzuki Swift  
People’s Choice finalist: Tesla Model Y  
People’s Choice finalist: Toyota Hilux  
People’s Choice finalist: Toyota RAV4  

The first batch of contenders for honours at the AA Driven Car Guide New Zealand Car of the Year 2023 awards have been announced, with Toyota and Mitsubishi leading the way on three nominations each.

The finalists for the small, medium and large SUV categories along with the models vying for the People’s Choice have been named ahead of the winners being revealed on December 1.

Toyota’s Yaris Cross is among the small SUV finalists and battling for the People’s Choice award are the marque’s Hilux and RAV4, which took out the honour last year.

Mitsubishi has three models hoping to win favour with public voters, the Eclipse Cross, Outlander and Triton.

Other notable finalists include the Tesla model Y getting a nod in the medium SUV section and the People’s Choice.

The People's Choice section is made up of the top 10 best-selling cars in New Zealand this year and members of the public who cast a vote will be in with a chance of winning $5,000 worth of petrol, diesel or electric-vehicle charge credit.

Entries close at 11am on Monday, November 27. For more details and how to vote, visit the Driven Car Guide website.

There are 11 awards in total being handed out, with prizes also on offer in passenger, light commercial, clean car – HEV/PHEV/BEV, sports and performance, luxury, and safety categories along with the overall car of the year. Last year’s top prize went to the Ford Ranger.


Small SUVs: BMW X1, Kia Niro, Toyota Yaris Cross

Medium SUVs: Honda ZR-V, Mazda CX-60, Tesla Model Y

Large SUVs: Ford Everest, Jeep Grand Cherokee, Lexus RX

People’s Choice: BYD Atto 3, Ford Ranger, MG ZS, Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross, Mitsubishi Outlander, Mitsubishi Triton, Suzuki Swift, Tesla Model Y, Toyota Hilux, Toyota RAV4