The trusted voice of the industry
for more than 30 years

ŠKODA Kodiaq takes out top prize

Posted on 12 December, 2017

The ŠKODA Kodiaq has come away with New Zealand's top motoring prize – the New Zealand Car of the Year at last night's award ceremony.   ŠKODA's first ever seven-seat SUV was voted number one of out ten finalists for the coveted Car of the Year trophy earning the support of the panel consisting of New Zealand Motoring Writers’ Guild and the AA. “ŠKODA has presented the world with a great all round vehicle. While it’s clearly been built with the family in mind, the Kodiaq’s configuration, spaciousness and technology ensures the market has an affordable versatile choice that will endure,” Ms Stocks says. “SUVs remain the most popular segment in the Kiwi motoring market and ŠKODA's entry into the 7-seater space with the Kodiaq, which also has a 5 star safety rating from ANCAP means we’re well served by the brand.” New Zealand Motoring Writers’ Guild President Robert Barry says the all-new ŠKODA Kodiaq SUV more than lives up to the brand's tag line of being Simply Clever. “The Kodiaq is more refined than many luxury SUVs with great design ideas, excellent packaging and competitive price points. “It has made the ŠKODA brand come of age in New Zealand and reach critical mass, it is therefore no surprise it has won the accolade of 2017 New Zealand Car of the Year.”

"The all-new Kodiaq SUV has shone a spotlight on ŠKODA in New Zealand unlike ever before. Demand has been phenomenal and sustained. Kiwi families in particular love how the Kodiaq excels in everyday life with its clever combination of quality, efficiency and European design. What’s started with Kodiaq will continue with more fresh SUV’s and electric vehicles coming very soon," added Greg Leet. 

The New Zealand Car of the Year was selected from a shortlist of new models released to the market between 1 October 2016 and 30 September 2017.

The finalists were:

• BMW 5 series • Holden Astra • Honda Civic hatch • Hyundai Ioniq • Land Rover Discovery • Mazda CX-5 • ŠKODA Kodiaq • Subaru XV • Suzuki Ignis • Suzuki Swift Apart from the Car of the Year award there are twelve other 'best in class' categories. In these, the judges can select from any new car available for sale new in New Zealand today, which means the winner can be an older model vehicle the judges’ feel remains the best, despite the release of newer cars in the category. Click here to find out who won A new category for electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids was added to best in class line up this year reflecting the increased availability and variety of these cars.